Dreamwell – “Sakaya”

Dreamwell – “Sakaya”

The flow of promising new albums from the screamo/skramz/post-hardcore world continues apace today courtesy of Dreamwell. The Providence-based project has shared the first single from its upcoming Modern Grotesque LP today, a blistering shoegaze-infused freakout called “Sakaya.” In the end, nasally sing-spoken lyrics like “You can’t hurt a person if their body is empty/ I’m a porcelain doll, I am fragile but lifeless” build to a brutally harsh climax. The album also includes a new recording of “Painting Myself A Darker Day,” which Dreamwell released as a single back in May. Hear both tracks below via Brooklyn Vegan.

01 “What Does It Mean To Live In A Grotesquerie”
02 “Painting Myself A Darker Day”
03 “Sayaka”
04 “A Crouching Tiger Waits For Prey That Never Comes”
05 “Plague Father; Vermin Son”
06 “You Dream’t of Me. I Dream’t Of A Mountain”
07 “The Vessel Bears My Face”
08 “The Lost Ballad of Dominic Anneghi”
09 “Modern Grotesque”
10 “Sisyphean Happiness”

Modern Grotesque is out 2/26 on Mourning Records.

more from New Music

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?